March 13, 2019

Now Available!! : 40th Anniversary 3 LP release of “Zappa In New York”

Frank Zappa’s Beloved Live Double Album “Zappa In New York” Is Celebrated With The 40th Anniversary Release…

In 1976, Frank Zappa played four historic sold-out concerts at The Palladium in New York City the week between Christmas and New Year’s. These thrilling shows – described by band member Ruth Underwood as “theatrical, outrageous and raucously funny, but also filled with startling and gorgeous music, dating from Frank’s 1960s output to literally the moment the curtain went up”— served as the source material for the live double album Zappa In New York which was constructed from the best-played performances with overdubs later recorded in the studio. Originally slated for release in 1977, the album was delayed for a year due to record label censorship issues, mostly over the controversial song “Punky’s Whips,” and finally released in 1978. One of Zappa’s most beloved collections of songs, the now classic album included a sensational live version of “Sofa” alongside nine new compositions, including the complex percussion-based piece “The Black Page,” which has become infamous in the drum community as the ultimate challenge, the Devilish comedic sendup “Titties & Beer,” and the notorious aforementioned “Punky’s Whips” about Punky Meadows, the flamboyant guitarist for the band Angel.

In celebration of its original release in 1978, this 40th Anniversary edition features all-analog mastering of the original album mix, unavailable since first issued. Plus an additional LP of select bonus content from The Vault and new liner notes from Ruth Underwood, Ray White and Joe Travers. Mastered by Chris Bellman at Bernie Grundman Mastering and pressed at Pallas in Germany on 180gram audiophile grade vinyl.


LP 1 / Side 1 – Original Album Mix Remastered
1. Titties & Beer
2. I Promise Not To Come In Your Mouth
3. Big Leg Emma

LP 1 / Side 2 – Original Album
1. Sofa
2. Manx Needs Women
3. The Black Page Drum Solo/Black Page #1
4. Black Page #2

LP 2 / Side 3 – Original Album
1. Honey, Don’t You Want A Man Like Me?
2. The Illinois Enema Bandit

LP 2 / Side 4 – Original Album
1. The Purple Lagoon

LP 3 / Side 1 – Bonus Vault Content
1. Black Napkins
2. Cruisin’ For Burgers (1977 Mix)

LP 3 / Side 2 – Bonus Vault Content
1. The Black Page #2 (Piano Version)
2. I Promise Not To Come In Your Mouth (Alternate Version)
3. Punky’s Whips (Unused Version)
4. The Black Page #1 (Piano Version)

Zappa, Frank: Zappa In New York – The 40th Anniversary Edition

Hits: 21

error: Content is protected !!
%d bloggers like this: